Looking Ahead

2016 has arrived!  I hope you are all looking forward to it as much as I am.  Here are some of the happenings in the writing worlds of E. C. Ambrose. . .

The Dark Apostle. . .so far.

The Dark Apostle. . .so far.

January finds me attending the Arisia convention in Boston, MA, which is always a good time–complete with a masquerade, gaming events, parties and lots of great panels.

I’ll also be revising The Dark Apostle, book 4, Elisha Mancer, with the aid of my editors’ notes to polish it up and make it the best book I can.

February features Boskone, a more literary convention, hosted by the New England Science Fiction Association, also in Boston.  If you’re a writer of science fiction or fantasy (or would like to be) you’d get a lot out of this convention–it’s great for readers, too!

and I’ll be polishing the fifth and final Elisha volume to send over to my publisher for 2017 release–it’s hard to imagine the series wrapping up!  I came up with the series ending a few years ago, and was appalled at myself, but also delighted.  That feeling lead to one of my first blog entries five years ago.  A wonderful, awful idea. . .

March is my own deadline for revising my first-ever international thriller novel, featuring a group of former Special Intelligence operatives, out to defend archaeological and cultural artifacts–they call themselves the Bone Guard. I had a blast writing this one, and I can’t wait to get it out to my readers.

April will find me teaching a workshop about book promotion at New Hampshire Writers’ Day, then in Utah, attending the Million Dollar Outlines workshop, with the amazing David Farland.  I have some ideas for my next fantasy project.  The workshop should serve as a retreat where I can focus on brainstorming and developing something truly epic.  I can hardly wait.

But I have another book to write in the meantime. . .

In May, I get to return to the International Congress on Medieval Studies, in Kalamazoo, Michigan.  This is the event where I get to pick the brains of thousands of experts on the fascinating details of the Middle Ages.

June. . . nope, got nothing.  Yet.  Maybe this is my month to finally summit Mount Washington? and revise that book I’ll be working on.

July 5th will see the launch of Elisha Mancer, and no doubt many other events besides.  Quickly followed by Readercon, one of my favorite annual events–this one is all about the books.  And a week of camping in the woods with teenagers to coach them on rock climbing.  What’s not to love?

In August, alas, I will miss the World Science Fiction Convention, this year held in Kansas City, MO. I hope you all have a great time without me.  There’s just so much a person can do in a year, after all.  I will also be turning in my first science fiction novel, a collaborative book that I’m very excited about.

Which means, in September, my schedule will be clear to write that fantasy novel I plotted in April.  Hopefully, I’ll be writing at 2000-3000 words a day, which seems to be a good pace for me.  But that still means a couple of solid months of drafting.

October will find me at the World Fantasy Convention in Columbus, Ohio, to see the unveiling of the new World Fantasy Award statuette.  What will it be?  I’m very curious.

November. Maybe I’ll take my birthday off. . . nah, probably not.  According to my two-year-plan spreadsheet, I’ll be brainstorming and pre-writing for a different kind of fantasy series.  And, if my readers and my agent are excited about the first Bone Guard book, then it’ll be time to draft another one–don’t worry, I already have a half-dozen cool ideas for further volumes.

I can’t believe it’s December already!  Must be time to revise the final volume. . .and then what?  Who knows!  But I will look forward to sharing it with you, dear friends and readers.

Have a happy New Year!

 

About E. C. Ambrose

I spend as much time in my office as I possibly can--thinking up terrible things to do to people who don't exist.
This entry was posted in books, conventions, essays, fantasy, personal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

