Guest Interview: Gail Z. Martin, author of Ice Forged

It’s been a while since I had a guest on the blog, so I’m excited to host Gail Z. Martin, author of Ice Forged, to tell us a bit more about her work. If you’re into action, character, and rich world-building, you’ll love Gail’s work. If you ever have the chance, go to one of Gail’s readings and let her bring her words to life. But I’ll let her tell you more. . .

Cover of Gail Z. Martin's latest, Ice Forged

Cover of Gail Z. Martin’s latest, Ice Forged

Q: Ice Forged is the first book in your new Ascendant Kingdoms’ Saga series. What comes next?

A: Ice Forged introduces readers to the kingdoms of Donderath and Meroven, and to the disastrous war that destroys both kingdoms and makes magic fail. Readers also meet Blaine McFadden, a disgraced lord, convict and exile who just might be the only one who can put things right.
The story will continue in early 2014 with Reign of Ash, and we’ll see more of Blaine and his convict friends as they deal with their post-apocalyptic world. The bad guys are back, too, with even bigger plans to use the chaos for their own ends, and there’s plenty of action, betrayal and surprises.

Q: Why a post-apocalyptic medieval setting?

A: Why not? After all, the real Middle Ages were no stranger to devastating natural disasters like famine, plague, and even volcanic eruptions and severe climate swings. For the people who lived through those hard times, I’m sure it felt like the end of the world. I’ve always been fascinated with those periods in history, so I decided to create my own!

Q: Why is the failure of magic so important?

A: In Blaine McFadden’s world, magic is the convenient short-cut. It’s like our power grid. Sure, you can wash clothes without electric appliances, but it takes more work and nowadays, does anyone remember how? It’s the same way in Blaine’s world. The old ways of doing things without magic have been forgotten, and people have come to rely on magic for as a quick fix. Imagine what a shoddy workman could do with a little bit of magic, things like propping up a poorly built wall or shoring up a sagging fence. When the magic fails, so do those fixes, and things literally begin to fall apart. Then there are the bigger magics, like keeping the sea from flooding the shoreline or using magic to heal. When magic doesn’t work anymore, how do you heal the sick or keep back the tide? Donderath has a really big problem on its hands.

Q: How did you decide to make your main character a convicted murderer?

A: Blaine’s not just a convicted murderer, he’s completely unrepentant about killing the man who molested his sister. He did what he felt he had to do, and was willing to accept the consequences, whether that meant death or exile. I wanted to create a situation which put Blaine into exile, but at the same time, I wanted readers to identify with him and think, “yeah, I would have done the same thing.” He’s not a squeaky-clean hero!

Q: Where can readers find your books?

A: My Chronicles of the Necromancer series, Fallen Kings Cycle books and Ascendant Kingdoms Saga books can be found in bookstores everywhere. I also write two series of short stories, the Jonmarc Vahanian Adventures and the Deadly Curiosities Adventures, which are available on Kindle, Kobo and Nook.
The Hawthorn Moon Sneak Peek Event includes book giveaways, free excerpts and readings, all-new guest blog posts and author Q&A on 21 awesome partner sites around the globe. For a full list of where to go to get the goodies, visit

@GailZMartin Book Giveaway on Twitter—Every day from June 21 – June 28 I’ll be choosing someone at random from my Twitter followers to win a free signed book. Invite your friends to follow me—for every new 200 followers I gain between 6/21 – 6/28, I’ll give away an additional book, up to 20 books!

Gail Z. Martin, author of Ice Forged

Gail Z. Martin, author of Ice Forged

Gail Z. Martin is the author of Ice Forged in her new The Ascendant Kingdoms Saga (Orbit Books), plus The Chronicles of The Necromancer series (The Summoner, The Blood King, Dark Haven & Dark Lady’s Chosen ) and The Fallen Kings Cycle (The Sworn and The Dread). She is also the author of two series on ebook short stories: The Jonmarc Vahanian Adventures and the Deadly Curiosities Series. Find her online at

About E. C. Ambrose

I spend as much time in my office as I possibly can--thinking up terrible things to do to people who don't exist.
This entry was posted in author interviews, books, guest blogs, magic, medieval and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s